First published in 1977 by Ace as a Paperback

The sixth of the Swords series (In the Lankhmar chronology), it introduces Cif and Afreyt and of course Rime Isle.

Notable Editions: First edition is Ace no. 79166-2. Gregg Press HB. George Prior HB, plus Audiobook and Kindle.

Contains the following short stories (listed in alphabetical order)

Beauty and the Beasts

Rime Isle

The Bait

The Frost Monstreme

The Sadness of the Executioner

Trapped in the Sea of Stars

Trapped in the Shadowland

Under the Thumbs of the Gods