The Fritz Leiber Home Page

Tag: Adept’s Gambit

Artwork: Adepts Gambit

Fritz Leiber and H.P. Lovecraft: Writers of the Dark

First published in 2003 by Wildside Press as a Hardback

Drawing together Fritz’s Lovecraft inspired stories (overt and more subtle) along his fascinating and insightful writings about Lovecraft.  For a Leiber fan the essays are the win here, but for a Lovecraft fan, they get some fine essays as well as a good selection of Fritz’s weird fiction.  My only comment is that the cover is not terribly inviting…

Publisher info:
While Howard Phillips Lovecraft was closing the final chapter of his writing career, Fritz Reuter Leiber was only beginning to open his own. The year was 1936 and Jonquil Leiber, Fritz’s first wife, sent a letter on her own initiative to Lovecraft, knowing that her husband had been an avid admirer of his work, ever since his first reading of “The Colour out of Space” and hoping that Lovecraft’s presence in Fritz’s slow-paced writing career might be the source of inspiration he so dearly needed. Lovecraft replied promptly on November 2 of that year, the seed of an invigorating correspondence, which lasted till Lovecraft’s passing. Fritz Leiber and H.P. Lovecraft: Writers of the Dark presents Lovecraft’s letters to Leiber, an impressive selection of Leiber’s fiction which shows Lovecraft’s influence, and a selection of Leiber’s essays on Lovecraft and Matters Lovecraftian. Features an introduction by Ben J. S. Szumskyj and an afterword by S.T. Joshi. read more

The Three of Swords

First published in 1989 by SFBC as a Hardback

Collects the first three Swords books.

Contains the following short stories (listed in alphabetical order)

Adept's Gambit

Bazaar of the Bizarre

Claws from the Night

Ill Met in Lankhmar


Lean Times in Lankhmar

The Bleak Shore

The Circle Curse

The Cloud of Hate

The Howling Tower

The Jewels in the Forest

The Price of Pain-Ease

The Seven Black Priests

The Snow Women

The Sunken Land

The Unholy Grail

The Wrong Branch

Their Mistress, the Sea

Thieves' House

When the Sea-King's Away

Lean Times in Lankhmar

An omnibus edition including both Swords in the Mist and Swords Against Wizardry. The book contains numerous illustrations ...

Swords in the Mist

First published in 1968 by Ace as a Paperback

The third of the Swords series (In the Lankhmar chronology). The second part of the book Adepts Gambit is taken from the story of the same name in Nights Black Agents.

Available as Kindle and Audiobook

Review by Mervi

Contains the following short stories (listed in alphabetical order)

Adept's Gambit

Lean Times in Lankhmar

The Cloud of Hate

the Sea

The Wrong Branch

Their Mistress, the Sea

When the Sea-King's Away

Night’s Black Agents

First published in 1947 by Arkham House as a Hardback

Night’s Black Agents was the first book Fritz Leiber had published, and was was released by Arkham House in 1947 (3084 copies). It collects together many of his stories that appeared in ‘ Weird Tales’ and ‘Unknown’. The ‘Ancient Adventures’, two Fafhrd and Mouser stories would later appear in Swords in the Mist. The book is dedicated to his first wife Jonquil (Stephens). The Ballantine edition of Night’s Black Agents loses Adepts Gambit, whilst The Gregg press edition adds A Bit of the Dark World and The Girl With Hungry Eyes. read more

© 2024 Lankhmar

Theme by Anders NorenUp ↑