First published in 1968 by Ace as a Paperback

The third of the Swords series (In the Lankhmar chronology). The second part of the book Adepts Gambit is taken from the story of the same name in Nights Black Agents.

Available as Kindle and Audiobook

Review by Mervi

Contains the following short stories (listed in alphabetical order)

Adept's Gambit

Lean Times in Lankhmar

The Cloud of Hate

the Sea

The Wrong Branch

Their Mistress, the Sea

When the Sea-King's Away